Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Beach Elementary graduates fifth grade

May 23, 2012
By BOB PETCHER, , Fort Myers Beach Bulletin, Fort Myers Beach Observer

Twenty-two students at Beach Elementary School will be moving to the next level of education in the near future, after graduating from fifth grade at an awards ceremony in the Dolphin Cafe Monday evening.

Beach school faculty and staff are hoping each and every one of the students will make an easy transition into middle school and beyond.

"May I introduce the Class of 2019," said Principal Larry Wood during his opening comments.

Article Photos

Beach Elementary School graduated another class of fifth graders who will be moving on to middle school. They are the Class of 2019.

The students were then asked how many had begun their Beach school education as kindergarteners. Most every one raised his or her hand, showing the decline in transiency in the Fort Myers Beach area.

Graduates moving onto sixth grade were Kevin Cherry, Evan Christensen, Marisol Teran Cortes, Samantha D'Angelo, Kyle Dimsdale, Nicholas Dobransky, Emily Fick, Myles Frease-Krakow, Dylan Gehrke, Allison Graeber-Witt, Tora Halsey-List, Taylor Harlan, Shelby Hiles, Summer Johnson, Bryana McCarthy, Sydney Monahan, Samantha Muller, Bridgette Myers, Ulises Santiago, Karina Sigala, Lea Stauder and Cameron Walker.

Academic awards were given to the students during the ceremony.

Sydney Monohan received the Carson Scholarship Award for maintaining a high grade-point average, while doing community service and submitting a winning essay entry about what she wants to do as an adult.

The President's Education Award, signed by President Barack Obama and the highest award a student can earn leaving elementary school, was given to students who maintained a 3.5 GPA in fourth and fifth grade and exceed Math and Reading FCAT scores. Honorees included Allison Graeber-Witt, Taylor Harlan, Myles Frease-Krakow, Bryana McCarthy, Sydney Monahan, Samantha Muller and Karina Sigala.

Here is a listing of the winners of the other Beach school academic awards:

- Straight A honor roll: Allison Graeber-Witt, Taylor Harlan, Bryana McCarthy, Sydney Monahan, Samantha Muller and Karina Sigala.

- A/B honor roll: Cameron Walker, Bridgette Myers, Shelby Hiles, Myles Frease-Krakow and Marisol Teran Cortes.

- B honor roll: Tora Halsey-List and Samantha D'Angelo.

- Highest average in Language (tie): Allison Graeber-Witt and Karina Sigala.

- Highest average in Math (tie): Karina Sigala and Bryana McCarthy.

- Highest average in Reading (tie): Taylor Harlan and Sydney Monahan.

- Highest average in Social Studies: Sydney Monahan.

- Highest average in Science: Sydney Monahan.

- Citizenship Award: Tora Halsey-List, Cameron Walker, Shelby Hiles, Marisol Teran Cortes, Taylor Harlan, Myles Frease-Krakow, Karina Sigala, Sydney Monahan, Bryana McCarthy and Samantha D'Angelo.

- Kiwanis Kids participation: Sydney Monahan, Allison Graeber-Witt, Summer Johnson, Samantha Muller, Taylor Harlan, Karina Sigala, Dylan Gehrke, Ulises Santiago, Emily Fick, Tora Halsey-List, Lea Stauder, Cameron Walker, Kevin Cherry, Bryana McCarthy, Nicholas Dobransky, Kyle Dimsdale and Bridgette Myers.

- Book Battle Award: Sydney Monahan, Bryana McCarthy, Taylor Harlan and Samantha Muller.

- AR Reading Points Awards: Bryana McCarthy (672), Taylor Harlan (501), Samantha Muller (385) and Sydney Monahan (266).

- Physical Education Awards: Myles Frease-Krakow and Karina Sigala.

- Art Talent Awards: Samantha D'Angelo and Myles Frease-Krakow.

- Music Awards: Sydney Monahan and Myles Frease-Krakow.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web