Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

League of Women Voters invites candidates to forum

October 3, 2012
Fort Myers Beach Bulletin, Fort Myers Beach Observer

To the editor:

The League of Women Voters of Lee County has a long history of educating voters about the qualifications and positions of those running for public office. Believe that candidates, whose salary is paid by tax money of their constituents, should meet face to face to answer questions that concern the community. The League is steadfastly nonpartisan. We never endorse a candidate nor a political party, and we try very hard to give voters the tools necessary to make an informed decision at the ballot box.

After consultation with Shell Point staff, we began early in June to contact the potential candidates for Congressional District 19, State Senate District 30 and Lee County Commissioner District 3 by mailing a Save This Date postcard. In August, after the primary election, we emailed and mailed by certified return receipt the forum guidelines, along with a deadline for their response. Those who did not respond were contacted by phone and email. We were gratified by the responses in general, but disappointed that one candidate, after repeated reminders, responded in the negative but gave no reason for her refusal to participate

As a result, the forum will take place at Shell Point Thursday, Oct. 4, from 7 to 9 p.m. at the Church Auditorium/ISL. Candidates who will address questions from the public are:

- United States Congressional District 19: Trey Radel (R) and James Roach (D)

- Florida State Senate District 30: Debbie Jordan (D) Senator Lizbeth Benacquito (R), declined to appear.

- Lee County Commissioner District 3: Larry Kiker (R) and Charley Whitehead (NPA)

When the League of Women Voters of Lee County conducts forums, they are about the candidates, the voters, and the issues. The public should come prepared to ask questions. There will be time to Meet and Greet the candidates after the forum.

Clara Anne Graham, President

League of Women Voters of Lee County

Bonita Springs



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web